Site Ground Hosting Review

Site Ground Hosting Review

SiteGround is a popular shared hosting provider that is trusted by more two.8 million domains.

Besides shared hosting, they also offer WordPress hosting, deject hosting, and even dedicated servers.

Nosotros paid for a shared hosting account, fix a live examination site, and take been closely tracking their performance with a third-party tool to provide this unbiased, transparent review.

Overall, SiteGround ranks near the top of all spider web hosting companies for both uptime (99.99%) and speed (356 ms). Their customer support team is knowledgeable, fast, and friendly. All plans come with a CDN, SSL certificate, and electronic mail accounts.

Withal, there are some downsides too.

Let’south dig in.

General Info & Hosting Overview



Pros of Using SiteGround Hosting


SiteGround starts strong with 99.99% uptime, to a higher place-average speeds, and tons of actress features that are perfect for both beginners and power users.

one. Proficient Functioning – 99.99% Uptime in Last 6 Months

SiteGround’s uptime performance has been nearly perfect over the last six months. Their
99.99% boilerplate
puts them among the most reliable hosts we’ve reviewed.

Strong uptime similar this keeps website visitors happy. Just more chiefly, it means your site is almost guaranteed to be working effectually the clock so you won’t miss out when your customers want to make a purchase, either.

SiteGround last 6 month average speed and uptime data
SiteGround’s last half dozen-month average uptime (monitoring since 2017) | See stats

Last six months’ average uptime:

  • August 2022:

    100%
  • July 2022:

    100%
  • June 2022:

    99.99%
  • May 2022:

    100%
  • April 2022:

    99.99%
  • March 2022:

    99.98%

2. To a higher place-Average Load Time (356 ms)

Site speed is easily the second most critical factor when choosing a host.

For starters, research by Google shows that 53% of people will go out your site if your page doesn’t load within iii seconds.

Furthermore, you can’t do much to fix a slow host. You might be able to compress images to lighten their weight. You might be able to load them through a CDN to accept some pressure off your server. Just it wouldn’t make much of a difference if the host is not delivering good speed.

Fortunately, you don’t have to worry nearly that with SiteGround.

SiteGround last 6 months average speed
SiteGround’s last six-calendar month boilerplate speed (monitoring since 2017) | See stats

Their
above-average loading time of 356 ms
isn’t the fastest we’ve seen, but the good news is that SiteGround has delivered gradually faster speeds throughout the six months.

iii. Good Customer Support Experience

SiteGround provides a noesis base for customers to detect their own quick answers. Otherwise, you can phone call in over the phone or use the 24/vii live conversation.

For this latest test, we opted for the live conversation pick and we connected with their customer rep in less than a infinitesimal.

Unlike another hosts, at that place was no noticeable delay in answers. And then it seemed like he knew what he was talking almost and didn’t have to look up answers each fourth dimension we sent over a new question.

SiteGround live chat

In full it took us less than four minutes to become a answer to our questions.

4. Free WordPress Migration

Whenever we see spider web hosts come out with a “DIY migration” option, it makes us a little anxious. That’southward because most of them aren’t nifty, and they terminate up putting more burden on the customer.

SiteGround might be the exception to this rule, though. They’ve created a free WordPress Migration plugin that you can upload to whatsoever site.

SiteGround WordPress migration plugin

At that place aren’t whatsoever long and boring walkthroughs, either. You but generate a token from inside your SiteGround hosting account and the plugin will apace aid practise the heavy lifting.

Aye, information technology however requires you to do a little piece of work. But the good news is that you can drift equally many websites equally you lot desire with this option. (In comparison, some hosts that offer “free migrations” cap it later only a few, forcing you to pay after a sure point.)

If you’d rather have some professional, hands-on assistance, SiteGround will throw in the gratis service on their higher-tier plans (GrowBig and upward).

If you lot exceed the limits on each program, they accuse a nominal fee of $30 for each additional site.

5. Free SSL Certificate and Content Delivery Network (CDN)

Google Chrome has started actively alert people if the site they’re trying to reach doesn’t have an SSL certificate set up.

SSL helps to protect any information sent back and forth between the user’s device and the website, including personal details similar IP addresses or credit card numbers. If left unsecured, hackers and others could easily intercept this data. So Chrome is looking out for spider web users’ all-time interest here.

In other words, that basically makes SSL certificates a requirement on all websites today. And thankfully, SiteGround throws these in for costless on all plans.

The other flake of proficient news comes in the form of a free Cloudflare CDN (Content Delivery Network). CDN stores large files, like images, on many servers in different locations effectually the globe. This helps to make sure that the files are stored as shut as possible to site visitors, making them faster to access.

SiteGround has servers spread out over three continents, which helps to keep loading times fast and provide a practiced customer experience.

6. Beginner-to-Avant-garde Features Bachelor

SiteGround has a petty something for everyone.

Beginners and bloggers will like that you tin install popular website builders similar Weebly in just a few clicks. Weebly features a simple drag-and-drop editor so you tin can take full control over the await and feel of your site (without having to dive into code).

Other than Weebly, SiteGround likewise has deep integrations with WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal. Each of these apps can be installed quickly and painlessly. No demand for a developer to help you out.

Read:   Dreamhost Shared Hosting Review

However, if you already are a developer, you’re in luck, too.

Yous’ll get Git pre-installed on bigger plans, along with SSH, WP-CLI, SFTP, and phpMyAdmin. They have multiple PHP versions at your disposal. Multi-level caching is available. And you can also become access to staging environments for sites to prep or exam before pushing new features into production.

SiteGround as well helps out with security, using a proprietary, AI-bot prevention tool that tries to snuff out new attacks before they hit. Their data reports that anywhere from 500,000 to 2 one thousand thousand brute-strength attempts are blocked on their servers each hour.

Then you lot’re not left alone to deal with these headaches, either.

7. 99.99% Uptime Guarantee

Remember that solid 99.99% uptime average? Well, there’s a reason SiteGround doesn’t falter here – it would toll them a lot of money.

Often, when yous dig into a web host’south terms of service, at that place’southward merely bad news cached in the fine impress.

SiteGround surprised us in a good way. Under their Service Level Agreement, they guarantee “network uptime of 99.ix% on an annual footing.” If they always dip below that threshold, you volition get compensated with gratis months of hosting.

Now, in that location are a few conditions to how the uptime is calculated. Whatsoever scheduled or emergency maintenance issues are exempt. If something you do causes downtime (such as exceeding resources, installing applications that don’t work, or violating terms), then SiteGround does not accept responsibility. Whatever major external attacks on their systems could sidestep this policy, also.

8. 30-Solar day Money-Back Guarantee

SiteGround features a full 30-twenty-four hour period money-back guarantee on all shared hosting plans.

Like many other hosts, domain proper name fees and whatever other “extras” are usually non refunded. And this refund policy merely applies to make new customers. So you can’t go refunds on renewal plans.

Cons of Using SiteGround Hosting


SiteGround impressed united states with near-flawless uptime and their guarantee of free service if uptime dips below 99.99%. Their loading speeds are quite good, even if they’re not the fastest out there. Too, SiteGround offers a variety of apps to brand both beginners and advanced users happy.

Notwithstanding, at that place are a few drawbacks to consider before signing upwards. So here are some of the bigger issues nosotros ran into during our hands-on test.

one. Higher Renewal Rates

SiteGround’s cheapest program, StartUp, features a $3.99/calendar month advertised cost on their website. Although it’s non the cheapest toll we’ve seen amid other hosts, it’s still pretty reasonable.

Even so, there’s a catch.

Almost every web host nosotros’ve reviewed to date uses the same play tricks. They get your attending with a low introductory rate, only to double (or even triple) the cost when it’southward time to renew.

For case, that $3.99/month rate jumps up to a whopping $xiv.99 when y’all renew. SiteGround’s other plans hike up to $24.99 and $39.99/month.

The best solution to this is to lock in the longest term possible to take advantage of that depression rate for equally long every bit y’all tin can.

two. Express “Cheap” Plan

SiteGround’s pricing on their everyman plan is comparable to the competition so it
seems
like a skillful deal when you offset look at it.

Nevertheless, the programme features don’t line up exactly.

For case, y’all get one website and but ten GB of web infinite to handle around 10,000 monthly visits. This programme also features unlimited traffic (or unmetered bandwidth). However, if your site is getting anywhere close to those limits, performance is going to endure.

That ways it’south adept for smaller sites that might not hit those thresholds for a while. But if your site starts becoming bigger, you’ll probably have to upgrade and pay more for increased resource.

3. No Complimentary Domain Name

Most spider web hosts throw in ‘freebies’ to concenter new customers.

That often includes the low introductory rate and additional services similar e-mail or migrations.

A costless domain name for the first year is nigh always on that list, too.

SiteGround domain name pricesSiteGround, unfortunately, doesn’t do that. If you lot don’t already take a domain proper name, they’ll accuse you for one from day one, starting at $17.99/twelvemonth for .com.

SiteGround Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

SiteGround has 3 shared hosting tiers. Hither are the costs and highlights:



Quick Facts

  • Domain: No. Domain prices start from $17.99/twelvemonth.
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy, one-page sign-up process.
  • Money-Dorsum:
    30-days money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card (there are other options available through chat)
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Renewal rates are higher. And you have to pay for a domain name (no freebie).
  • Upsells: A few… but aught too bad.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Command Panel and Dashboard: cPanel
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of pop apps and CMSs using Softaculous.

Do We Recommend SiteGround?

Yep, nosotros practice.

SiteGround has delivered solid uptime for a few years now. And their uptime guarantee makes sure that y’all’ll probably never have whatsoever major downtime issues.

Their site speed is pretty adept, as well. That’southward thanks to their servers spread out over 3 continents and free Cloudflare CDN account. They also give you lot free SSL on all plans.

Moreover, their pricing is good if you lot take reward of the longest term possible. Otherwise, you’ll stop up striking those loftier renewal rates sooner. Bring your own domain, too, to escape another fee.

Read:   Siteground Cloud Hosting Review

Visit www.SiteGround.com


P.S. Have you used SiteGround before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really thing as long it’s helpful to our visitors. Thank you for your support.

134 user reviews for SiteGround

Submit a review

Submit a brusque but detailed review and assistance others!

We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your annotate/review is published elsewhere, we’ll not publish it. Besides, delight don’t use any “bad” words or swearing. Thanks!

Katie


iii

 — May 17, 2022

Support has finally started going downhill

I have always loved Siteground, for many years. I’ve always recommended them, I accept xxx sites on the most expensive shared server, and I have ALWAYS had excellent and fast customer service. I have enjoyed the “Priority Back up” equally promised with my GoGeek plan, until very recently.

I tried to get help with an consequence and went circular and round and round inside their help heart. They have made this modify on purpose in society to cut down on people contacting them and I know this because the selections I used to make to get into the conversation no longer take me to the chat. As a loyal customer, I don’t capeesh this run-around method of getting me to give up and decide to not contact support.

The last 2 times I’ve contacted support, I’ve had to make upward answers in order to get the support I need because the suggestions were not even remotely helpful. When following the prompts, it says they tin’t help because my domain is not pointed to Siteground and suggested I point my nameservers. The domain IS pointed via A record, just it would still non let me access back up. I had to pick a different domain in order to brand it through the prompts and so tell the agent “pitiful, it’south really about a different domain”.

I pay the same corporeality of coin and they’re trying to offer me LESS back up. Unacceptable. I’ll be making a plan to move former inside the adjacent few years, and I take stopped recommending them. I’k sad to see the support decline in this style.

The agents are ever very helpful if you can make information technology there!

Sharon


5

 — May 12, 2022

Always helpful & polite

Every time I’ve had a question the back up team has been very quick to answer and walk me through the steps needed. They are also very polite 🙂 I moved my account to Siteground later being with Godaddy for years. It was easy and I saved a lot of money too!

Vitor C


5

 — April 22, 2022

Astonishing support

Siteground support never ceases to astonish me. I but had four unlike problems solved in one go (chat).
They just stopped short of doing programmer work, merely solved things in the immediate term and explaining/teaching fully gave me a clear picture of where to get for a robust implementation of what I need.

Heads upwardly to Felipe R. and Dobromir North.
Where ‘southward the sixth star?? They deserve it

Paul B


5

 — April 20, 2022

Great client service

I needed urgent aid with DNS records then I hopped on SiteGrounds chat function and it was sorted inside a couple of minutes! A very helpful member of staff guided me through the unabridged procedure and got what I needed to be completed. I am very happy with this service.

Dan


five

 — Apr 19, 2022

Great Customer Service

I’ve been using Siteground for a while and it’s consistently good. Even though I prefer Cpanel, the newer site tools work only fine. Someday there’s a hiccup or an effect comes upward I take been able to connect to support via conversation very quickly if not instantly, regardless of time of day. The support person has always been elevation notch– understanding my effect apace and responses are articulate and also easy to understand. They have always solved the problem and I’m back up and running within minutes rather than hours/days. I highly recommend it!

Alina


five

 — April 14, 2022

Will never go elsewhere

SiteGround is the best. Ironically I initially chose them considering of their artful and site design. It was calming, not demanding attention… But when nosotros had bug they were correct there! Within minutes! These guys are the best and I’g so so happy I found them. They have quondam-fashioned ethics and modernistic convenience. I highly Recommend!!

Stephen S


5

 — Apr 10, 2022

Very Helpful

Very helpful and stress gratuitous. Even though I am not computer savvy, I knew that my issue was going to be taken intendance of professionally. I walked through step by step though the entire process. I was using some other service without whatsoever aid. Total 180.

Paul


v

 — March 22, 2022

Excellent support

Fast and professional support, difficult tech bug solved quickly, professionally and competently. We had an e-mail effect which we could non resolve and the chat support was activated quickly and enabled usa to share the problem including screenshots. Thanks

Sarah H


5

 — March xiii, 2022

Transfer of Ownership Clarifications

I needed to know how the hosting situation would play out when transferring buying of a site to the client/end-user. I got thorough info that answered not just my start question but several more I hadn’t even asked all the same! Very pleased with the assist and the functionality of the production/service.

TANJOH Grand


5

 — March 11, 2022

Awesome Services

Slap-up services and awesome support. Nigh 0% downtime since I started using siteground hosting services. Support is 24/7 with ever positive results. Autonomously from the hosting, the security is awesome and does non leave out the speed with which sites load.

Tim


5

 — February 21, 2022

Got only what I needed

Siteground client back up again does a marvelous job.

I was baffled at the adjacent steps for pointing an exterior domain to hosting on Siteground. The nice person on the chat helped me through the process smoothly, and fifty-fifty sent a link to a tutorial that would assistance me through the next steps I need to take.

Wish I knew the name of the rep I dealt with – he or she was very good, and deserves recognition.

nome


5

 — Feb 19, 2022

Fast and to the point

Took less than a minute to reply to my query and got all the support needed to sort out the effect with my new domain name I bought within 5 minutes. The customer back up was very knowledgeable and was able to aid someone like me that is new to this stuff.

Impressive back up

Vicki


5

 — February two, 2022

Dearest Siteground

I have been with siteground for quite a few years at present and would never change as they have been so supportive to me. Highly recommend them. They have a great support team that take always helped me out no affair what. Simply the all-time. Thanks to the team at Siteground.

Cesar R


5

 — February 2, 2022

Fantabulous Support

SiteGround’southward support is always at hand when I need it. I never have to wait more three minutes and someone is chatting with me correct off.

Support always resolved my issues with ease and fast.

The all-time hosting I ever had afterward many years with others.

Sue


5

 — January 25, 2022

Outstanding Customer Service

Hosting is the lifeblood of your website. Things can go smoothly for years, simply when your site is down, it’s all hands on deck. SiteGround has maintained their superior client service despite their growth over the years and I highly recommend them!

Dave


5

 — January 17, 2022

five Stars for support

As a newcomer to WordPress, I’ve found the learning curve to be a niggling steep. In fact, I may take abased the platform all together if it weren’t for the support staff at Siteground. They’ve been phenomenal when I’ve plant myself ready to throw in the towel, and the patience with my elementary questions has been world course!

Jonathan A


5

 — January 7, 2022

Absolutely Fantastic!

Absolutely fantastic customer service. Firsthand responses every fourth dimension. They are quick, knowledgeable, and I couldn’t recommend SiteGround enough. I have requested service through their conversation feature a couple of times at present and the responses and level of back up accept been consistent every time. Hands down astounding.

Jenna


five

 — December 27, 2021

Excellent service

I had an issue changing my DND records and reached out for help at Siteground. Once I found the chat area, I was able to get immediate assistance and they helped me resolve the issue. They gave me easy step-past-step instructions and were very pleasant to converse with. Keen service, happy customer!

James F


5

 — December 24, 2021

Bully Support

Corking support staff at your fingertips 24/7.

Queries answered promptly. Very understanding and helpful.

Had a few small bug none of which were related to Siteground, yet their staff were able to help me and helped breathe a little easier.

10/10 for customer service

Site Ground Hosting Review

Source: https://websitesetup.org/hosting-reviews/siteground/